<u>2024</u>

Wally Taylor (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Sierra Club, Iowa) Archbishop John C. Wester: Santa Fe, New Mexico Benetick Kabua Maddison: Marshallese Education Initiative, Arkansas Bill Mitchell Grassroots Activists of the Year: Melissa Bumstead & Jeni Knack, Parents Against Santa Susana Field Lab, California Ed Lyman: Union of Concerned Scientists, Washington DC

<u>2023</u>

Ian Zabarte (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Karen Hadden (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Golden Rule Peace Boat Project Bill Mitchell Grassroots Award: Giselle Herzfeld, Rocky Mountain Peace and Justice Center

<u>2019</u>

Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA) Patricia Mellen, Lawyer working on Rocky Flats Rose Gardner (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Bill Mitchell Grassroots Awards: Denise Duffield, Los Angeles Chapter, Physicians for Social Responsibility, and Don Hancock, Southwest Research and Information Center

<u>2018</u>

Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA) Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) Susan Gordon Terry Lodge (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Bill Mitchell Grassroots Award: Diane Valentin, Georgia Women's Action for New Directions

<u>2017</u>

Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA) International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons Tina Cordova, Trinity Site Downwinder Advocate Dave Kraft (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Bill Mitchell Grassroots Award: Mavis Belisle, Just Peace

<u>2016</u>

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA) Chuck Montaño-author, activist, whistleblower Kay Cumbow (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Secret Grassroots Award: Rick Wayman, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation

<u>2015</u>

Senator Harry Reid (D-NV) Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA) James Doyle – Former Los Alamos Lab Nuclear Policy Analyst Jon Lipsky – Retired FBI Special Agent Michael Keegan (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Secret Grassroots Award: Scott Yundt – Tri-Valley CAREs

<u>2014</u>

Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR) Donna Busche, former Environmental and Nuclear Safety Manager at Hanford Diane D'Arrigo (Judith Johnsrud Unsung Hero Award with Beyond Nuclear) Secret Grassroots Award: Tom Carpenter – Hanford Challenge

<u>2013</u>

Kristen Iversen, author of Full Body Burden: Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) Kathleen Sullivan, Disarmament Educator Diane Curran, Mothers for Peace attorney Secret Grassroots Award: Judith Mohling – Rocky Mountain Peace and Justice Center

<u>2012</u>

Rep. Ed Markey (D-MA) Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA) Mary Dickson - Utah Downwinder Oleg Bodrov - Russian Environmental Activist Secret Grassroots Award: Ralph Hutchison -Oak Ridge Environmental Peace Alliance

<u>2011</u>

Sen. John Kerry (D-MA) Carol Urner – Women's International League for Peace & Freedom Natalia Manzurova – Engineer & Chernobyl Liquidator Dr. Walter Tamosaitis - Hanford Whistleblower Secret Grassroots Award: Scott Kovac – Nuclear Watch New Mexico

<u>2010</u>

Rep. Pete Stark (D-CA) Ira Shorr – Physicians for Social Responsibility Judy Treichel – Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force Steve Frishman - Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force Secret Grassroots Award: Ann Suellentrop – Physicians for Social Responsibility Kansas City

<u>2009</u>

Sen. Harry Reid Kathy Setian – EPA Region 9 Lawrence Sanders – Turner Environmental Law Clinic Laura Frank – Investigative Journalist Secret Grassroots Award: Tom Clements – Nuclear Watch South

<u>2008</u>

Sen. Dianne Feinstein Sen. Byron Dorgan Rep. David Hobson Rep. Pete Visclosky Robert Alvarez, Institute for Policy Studies Christopher Paine - Natural Res. Def. Council Secret Grassroots Award: Seth Tuler - Social and Environmental Research Institute

<u>2007</u>

Sen. Jeff Bingaman Andrey Talevlin – Russian Lawyer Adrienne Anderson – Community organizer Robert Gilkeson – LANL Whistleblower Secret Grassroots Award: Bobbie Paul – Georgia Women's Action for New Directions

<u>2006</u>

Rep. Lynn Woolsey Rep. John Spratt Rep. Eni Faleomavaega German Lukashi – Russian Whistleblower Deseret Morning News Las Vegas Sun Secret Grassroots Award: Fernald Residents for Environmental Safety & Health

<u>2005</u>

Sen. Maria Cantwell Dr. Robert Civiak Don Brown – LANL whistleblower Judge Christopher G. Weeramantry Protect Washington - Group of organizations that collaborated on Initiative - 297: Columbia River Keeper, Heart of America Northwest, Government Accountability Project, Ploughshares Fund, Washington League of Women Voters, Washington Physicians for Social Responsibility, Washington Public Interest Research Group, Washington Sierra Club

Secret Grassroots Award: Joni Arends – Concerned Citizens for Nuclear Safety

2004

Sen. Dianne Feinstein Sen. Edward Kennedy Wes McKinley - Rocky Flats Grand Jury Foreman Jacque Brever - Rocky Flats whistleblower Geffrey H. Fettus - Natural Resources Defense Council LeRoy Moore - Rocky Mountain Peace & Justice Center Secret Grassroots Award: Sharon Cowdrey – Miamisburg Environmental Safety and Health

<u>2003</u>

Sen. Carl Levin Rep. Tom Allen, ME Rep. Ed Markey Dr. Steven Wing Daryl Kimball - Arms Control Association Christopher Steele - LANL whistleblower Secret Grassroots Award: Jay Coghlan - Nuclear Watch of New Mexico

<u>2002</u>

Sen. Harry Reid Rep. Shelley Berkley Rep. Barbara Lee Charles Quinones - LLNL whistleblower Mathew Zipoli- LLNL whistleblower Dr. Arjun Mahkijani - Institute for Energy and Environmental Research Secret Grassroots Award: Gerry Pollet -Heart of American Northwest

<u>2001</u>

Sen. Ron Wyden Rep. Dennis Kucinich Kathy Rizzo - Associated Press Alexander Nikitin - Bellona Norm Buske - Nuclear Weapons Free America Posthumous Award: Alan Cranston & Sam Day Secret Grassroots Award: Pat Ortmeyer -Women's Action for New Directions

2000

Rep. Ed Markey Joby Warrick - Washington Post Andreas Toupadakis - Livermore Lab scientist who resigned John Broadeur - Hanford Whistleblower Coalition for Health Concern, Paducah, KY Secret Grassroots Award: Marylia Kelley, TriValley CAREs

<u>1999</u>

Rep. Lynn Woolsey Peter Eisler - USA Today Dr. Owen Hoffman - SENES Oak Ridge Natalia Mironova - Movement for Nuclear Safety, Russia Secret Grassroots Award: Beatrice Brailsford -Snake River Alliance

<u>1998</u>

Sen. Tom Harkin Bishop Thomas Gumbleton Anne Paine, Laura Frank, and Susan Thomas -The Tennessean Secret Grassroots Award: Don Hancock -Southwest Research & Information Center

<u>1997</u>

Sen. John Glenn Bishop Leroy Matthieson - Bishop of Amarillo, TX Willie Brooks - Citizens Against Nuclear Trash World Court Project, Lawyers Committee on Nuclear Policy Secret Grassroots Award: Todd Martin, Hanford Education Action League

<u>1996</u>

James Werner - Department of Energy Del. Eni F.H. Faleomavaega Sen. Mark Hatfield Sen. Jeff Bingaman Grace Thorpe - National Environmental Coalition of Native Americans Secret Grassroots Award: Tom Rauch -American Friends Service Committee

<u>1995</u>

Sen. Russ Feingold Sen. John Glenn Rep. Peter DeFazio Rep. Tony P. Hall Rep. Cynthia McKinney Gen. Andrew J. Goodpaster Secret Grassroots Award: Bob Schaeffer, Public Policy Communications

<u>1994</u>

Sen. James Exon

Sen. Paul Wellstone Rep. Pat Danner Rep. Ed. Markey Rep. Fourtney "Pete" Stark Secret Grassroots Award: Bill Mitchell & Sharon Carlsen - Military Production Network

<u>1993</u>

Sen. Mark Hatfield Rep. Ronald V. Dellums Rep. Ron Wyden Rep. Elizabeth Furse Tad McCall - EPA Secret Grassroots Award: Kerry Cooke, Snake River Alliance

<u>1992</u>

Sen. Tim Wirth Rep. Patricia Schroeder Rep. David Skaggs Rep. Mike Kopetski First Secret grassroots award: Colorado groups for closing Rocky Flats - American Friends Service Committee, Greenpeace, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Rocky Mountain Peace & Justice Center

<u>1991</u>

Sen. John Glenn Rep. Lane Evans Rep. Mike Synar

<u>1990</u>

Sen. Tim Wirth Rep. Dante Fascell Rep. Dennis Eckart

<u>1989</u>

No awards